Hello from Ireland

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Eirebobo

Reaction score
Hi all,
Complete newbie, looking forward to reading to some good articles and posts here.
Where i am at the moment -
Want to dive straight in at the deep end, rather than using the plastic bucket sets you get in chain stores.
I have a fair size garage 10 x 5 metres which i can utillise
I have a budget of €1000 for equipment and ingredients for starting off
If any fellow dublin brewers are here would love to see what set up you's have

Fáilte

Visiting Ireland is on my bucket list, was wondering what it would be like to go to a home brew club meeting there.
For a beginner, one of your first tasks should be looking for a local club:

https://www.nationalhomebrewclub.ie/
You didn't ask for my 2 cents about how to spend your brewing equipment money, but here it is anyway:
Your usual temperatures are very mild and if you have a spot that stays around 16-17C you can ferment ales without any problems, if you want lagers you'll need a colder spot or brew them in the colder months.
So you can initially get away without a fermentation chamber.
Its my understanding that buying stuff over there is much more expensive than here in the US because of various taxes, finding used brewing gear will be the way to go. Homebrew clubs and Facebook marketplace are a good place to look.