Having problems with wheat..

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

3RiverBrewer

Reaction score
Hey guys I have been brewing for 2 years now and looking through my records I never have any problem when I use strictly barley. However, whenever I use wheat my OG is terrible. Last night I made a scrap pumpkin wheat beer of just what I had left laying around that I thought would be good.

3.75 lbs briess 2 row
.25 lbs roasted bareley
4 lbs Briess red wheat

I mashed with 3.5 gallons of water for 80 minutes at 153F (finished at 149F)
Sparged with another 3.5 gallons of water.

End Results: 4.25 gallons of beer to be fermented (my boil was to intense but thats a seperate issue) with an OG of 1.042. I was planning on just back filling to get to 5.5 with cooled boiled water but my OG was already way lower than I was expecting.

I'm trying to figure out why the mash efficiency is so terrible for this batch and some of my previous wheat batches. Is there something i'm missing?

Things you could try, the next time:
1) A thicker mash. "normal" ratio is 1.25 Q/lb; you were at 1.75. So maybe drop the mash water to 9 or 10 quarts.
2) Wheat has no diastatic power of its own; use 6-row instead of 2-row, for its greater power. Or, just increase the 2-row.

I don't know if either of these would definitely cure the problem; you have to dial in a process that works on your system.

Good luck!

Could also be a problem related to your sparge. Do you use rice hulls? If you're doing a mash with a lot of wheat in it, you can get channeling which will reduce your efficiency. Toss in a lb. of rice hulls to improve your drainage, that might help.

jerrodm said: