Good cider apple varieties for Eastern Pennsylvania

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WilliamSlayer

Reaction score
I had a co-worker mention he and his dad are looking at land in Eastern Penn. He's only thinking 6-12 trees, not a full blown orchard.

Can anyone give me 3-4 good varieties he could plant for cider? At least one should be a pollinator that much I know, but I am not from that area, so I don't know the apples that are good growers.

Any help would be great! Thanks!

This book would be an excellent read for your co-worker. There are a couple chapters talking about orchards and varietal selection by region that answer this exact question.

Last edited by a moderator:
I am far from an expert but I like Northern Spy and it does well in the finger lakes region of NY so you might wanna consider it for ePA.