Getting Port-Like Flavors?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Arrheinous

Reaction score
I've been hankering to start up a heavy duty beer like a RIS / Baltic Porter / Wee Heavy / Quad that will give some very nice porty, dark fruit flavors - cherry, raisin, and all that.

Bought a bottle of great tawny port (Sandeman) this week after my buddy put me on to it. I also had the last bottom of Sam Adams Wee Heavy I've been holding on to for six months and it was awesome after all the heat had subsided and all those rich flavors were allowed to come out.

What's actually making these flavors possible? I've been browsing Radical Brewing and there's the "port-like beer" recipe. That's certainly on my to-do list but I want to start experimenting with these flavors on less time-involved projects.

Crystal 120 and Special B appear to be good sources from malt. Randy Mosher does make a valuable sidenote in that some malts are prone to more favorable oxidation products than others.

Dark shades of candi syrup/sugar are also reported to have these flavors when cooked with something like DAP to allow Maillard reactions to occur.

I haven't seen a beer yeast that gives sherry-like flavors. Is there one out there? I imagine a Scottish ale yeast might give something similar if stressed a bit.

And are there styles of beer that rely on controlled oxidation to get the flavors in there?

"Sherry flavors" come from oxidation, so aging a beer is what brings that out. I don't think of it as controlled oxidation, as usually it's just aging a beer with special B and dark malts that brings it out.