First time with Bru'n Water/Ward Labs Test

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JDL

Reaction score
I just recently relocated to a house with a well and this is my first attempt at preparing the water for brewing. In my old house I used a Camden Tablet and allowed it to sit overnight after running it through a brita water filter (it was treated water from the city).

Was hoping to get feedback to ensure I have used my Wards Lab and Bru'n Water correctly. The recipe shown below is for a basic American Wheat beer I am going to make next.

Also any comments on my water test in general that you see, I have done a lot of reading and I think I lucked out into a pretty good source of brewing water.

The only addition I can see that is required is Lactic Acid at 1.25 mg a gallon. I am doing a full volume mash for a 5 gallon batch as well. From what I can tell it makes the sparge sheet not utilized in the calculations (maybe someone can confirm this or correct me).

Thanks in advance for any advice,
Jeff

Ward Labs Test.png

Water Report.png

Sparging.png

Grain Bill.png

Water Profile Adj.png

Was hoping to get feedback to ensure I have used my Wards Lab and Bru'n Water correctly.

Yes, you've set up Bru'n Water correctly.

Also any comments on my water test in general that you see, I have done a lot of reading and I think I lucked out into a pretty good source of brewing water. The only addition I can see that is required is Lactic Acid at 1.25 mg a gallon.

While I'm not an expert, I think your water is good for lighter styles, like lagers, wheat beers, light ales. You will have to acidify the water (which you've done) for probably all recipes due to the moderate amount of bicarbonate.