first time force carbing question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Eddiebosox

Reaction score
I apologize if this has been asked before, and I promise I have read the faqs, I just need some quick clarification on force carbing as this is my first time kegging.

I have 5 gallons of IPA I want to serve this Sunday for a St. Paddies day party. I am going to add a few ounces of pellet hops in the keg in a SS tea ball, since I heard hop bags can get clogged in the pickup tube. Since my keg is not getting delivered until Thursday, I need to get it carbed to 2.5 volume by sunday, so I need to force carb.

From what I have read it is my understanding that to get to a 2.5 volume in a keg with 40 degree beer inside, according to this chart I need to set the regulator at 12 PSI:

http://www.ebrew.com/primarynews/ct_carbonation_chart.htm#Carbonation_Chart

In order to speed up the process I can shake the keg back and forth and listen as it accepts more C02, let it sit a few hours, then gently shake it again. Repeat this step for about a day or so. When the sound of more c02 entering the keg stops, that means it cannot accept any more, it is now fully carbed at 2.5. If I rock it on and off consistently I can get it to fully carb in a day or so. Then when I want to serve it, I keep the regulator set at 12 PSI, pour a small glass to get rid of sedimentation that may have occurred, and after that, I have beer.

Is that correct? or do I have to set the PSI to 30 during the force carb process? If I do that wont I overcarb?

Given those two choices, only one will safely carbonate your beer: set the regulator to the proper pressure to achieve the desired carbonation level at the current beer temperature, and shake 'til no more gas flows...

Cheers!