First partial mash mayhem

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jayslay

Reaction score
Hello,

I've been brewing kits for over ten years now but have just recently got into steeping grains and now finally partial mash. Last night was my first attemp at it, trying to brew a hefeweizen. I posted in recipes section for some tips but I guess I didn't interest anyone enough to respond. https://www.homebrewtalk.com/f12/strawberry-hefeweizen-pm-1st-pm-418348/

Anyways, I think my recipe was a little bit more complex than i needed and I got in a little over my head by trying to do a decoction with multiple rests.
I logged my temperatures over time and found that I was all over the place... How much does each rest change the end wort product in a partial mash?

I guess I should have brushed up on that chapter in How to Brew..

Mashed in @ 116F for 18 min (too warm....)
Infused with boiled water to get to 124F for 15 min
After that Im sort of got lost trying to stabilize the temps..

heated to 144F for about 10 min
heated to 154 for 20 minutes (removed a half gallon decoction, boil 20 min)
Added decoct. back in to acheive 160F for 5-10 minutes
Ramped it up to 168F for several minutes and then flameout.

Im all over the map, probably missed the optimal enzyme temps and hold times. Will my beer hefe turn out alright? Do people actually read these long posts?

I'm planning my first partial mash myself, so I am far from the expert on this.

That said, I wouldn't think the results of your process, no matter how all over the map it was, will change the outcome terribly. I bet you still got conversion, and will wind up with a really nice hefe when it's all said and done.

Cheers!