First Keg foam issues

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thabersaat

Reaction score
So I am having foaming issues with my first keg beer. I have a modified mini fridge in a closet with a home made riser up about 12 inches from the top then it goes about 2 feet through a wall to the faucet. The hose is in a pvc pipe open to the fridge and well insulated with pipe insulation. This is my first time with a keg and we made a tasty hef. my problem is that i am getting 3/4 a pint of foam even after the 2 or 3rd pour. beer line is 7 feet long, temp is 40 degrees. I forced carb at 20psi for a week, tried it and it was not carbed much so cranked it up to 35 for about a day and a half. tried purging the co2 and serving at 7, 10 and 12 psi and get the same foam.

A also tried hooking up a picnic tap and got the same issue and noticed that even after a first pour i could just see the foam start filling up in the line for the next pour.

did i over carb? but if so why does the hef still seem undercarbed for drinking.

the photo is of my new setup. the beer is after i spooned all the foam off a few times :(

IMG_2741.jpg

That definitely sounds overcarbonated to me.

Think of it this way: because it is overcarbonated, it will flow out of the faucet faster, with a greater change in pressure, which causes the absorbed CO2 to be forced out of solution. By the time it settles to a reasonable level, too much of the CO2 has come out of solution, and it now tastes flat.

The way to make sure to carbonate properly is to measure the temperature accurately, and leave it on the correct pressure for the desired volume of CO2 in solution, and just wait a few weeks (sometimes shorter).