First Brew, possible stuck fermentation?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brewsephus

Reaction score
Hi folks,

I am new to brewing. I'm about 8 days into my first beer and I think I have a major problem, let me run you through it. My wife got me a bucket brew kit for Christmas and an ingredients pack (Brewers Best) for a Grolsch style beer. I followed the directions to a T. When it came time to transfer from brew pot to fermenter, after chilling the wort, there was nothing about aeration mentioned. Being the good doobie I am, I made sure not to disturb the siphoned beer. It has literally not been aerated at all. I watched the fermentation begin within the first 24-36 hours. It was lovely and aggressive, I was so excited to enjoy my own beer for the first time! At approx. 72 hours the fermentation ceased completely and the airlock hasn't bubbled since. Thinking something was wrong I found HomeBrewTalk.com and learned about the importance of aerating your beer before pitching yeast.

My question is, to save my beer, can I pitch another batch of yeast and restart the fermentation? Should I rack to a secondary and try to repitch, or repitch in the primary fermenter? I took a gravity reading today: my OG was 1.042 and my current gravity is 1.022. It has fermented for 8 days at around 68 degrees, undisturbed.

Please help!

try gently rousing the yeast by gently turning the bucket side to side and warming it up a couple (just a couple) degrees. rouse it each day for a couple days and take another reading. sometimes that helps drop those last few gravity points.

FWIW, sometimes malt extract beers peeter out around 1.020 or so, so if thats the case, it may be close to done. still try rousing and warming because a lot of times that does the trick.