Finished Cider smells sour

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Toy4Rick

Reaction score
Hey gang,

I have been brewing beer for nearly 5 years now with nearly 150 batches to date. My first cider turned out amazing so i went after batch #2 the same way.

Fermentation took about 3 weeks total and ended up at 1.000. It's been in the keg 8 weeks today and my concern is, it smells and tastes like its sour like it has/is going bad.

Here is the batch/process
5 gals of pasteurized unfiltered no preservatives apple cider from the local health food store (same as the first batch)
Added 4 campden tablets for 24 hours
Added Nottingham - Danstar yeast and about 5 tsp of yeast nutrients
Checked gravity several times along the way as I wanted to stop fermentation at about 1.010 but got busy near the end and missed it, it finished up at 1.000
Kegged it and 2 weeks later, bamm, the sour smell is so bad it's not drinkable. It might be a bit less now at 8 weeks but not sure if it can be saved

Thoughts?

Thanks in advance
Rick

Did u use Notty the first time. I used Notty one year and S-04 the next. while I only notice a subtle difference some knowledgable people have said the Notty leaves an objectionable flavor/odor. Could that be it?

it has a lambic infection. I have found that ciders get infected super easy, especially when fermented in plastic. Now personally, i like the taste, and purposefully will let it go with an infection for a bit, then hit it with a camdon tab. The best way to get away from it, is to #1 ferment in glass, and #2 use fresh yeast. Im enjoying a sour cider right now thats about 11 months old. I like to put a bit of vanilla and concentrated apple juice in it to taste. It deff. gets better with age

The first batch i used SafAle English Ale yeast.