Fermentation temperature control in hot climate

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RealToast

Reaction score
In the Central Valley of California, Summer temps are normally 100+ and often in the teens. Internal temps at my home, even with AC can be expected fluctuate from 72 to 80. I'm new to brewing and have made three batches, all fermenting in my garage at temps varying from 54 to 68 during the winter. Now, for my next brew, I'm concerned about the high temps. My garage will easily stay 90-100+ in the Summer, 24/7, so I'd ferment in the house. But, barring running AC at great expense and too-cold-for-comfort, what other solutions are there?

Can you suggest a means of controlling temperature of my fermentation process? I've seen (and own) products that will keep the fermentation process warm in colder climates. But, are there fermentation temp controllers that can cool the process, as needed? Other ideas?

Thanks.

Yeah, that's pretty much your only option. A swamp cooler won't get you there when it's 110F. I got a 7cf chest freezer for $40 off CL and then got a Johnson controller for about $80. Money well spent.

Look into the "cool brewing" insulated bags.
It is a big insulated bag that holds a carboy, you can swap out frozen 2L bottles to maintain an apropreate fermentation temp.
You wont be able to ferment in your 100 F garage, but maintaining it at 65 F in your 80 degree house will be no problem.
I live in the same climate as you, and am able to hold things in the 60s, when my house is in the 80s.
I usually swap out the frozen bottles twice a day during the first 5 days of fermentation(or untill active fermentation slows), then I allow the beer to come up to room temp and finish up.