extract bourbon barrel ale?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

YNWApistolero

Reaction score
So I'm a huge fan of Kentucky Bourbon Barrel Ale. I've seen some AG clone recipes, but as I'm still somewhat new to brewing (<1 year) and limited in brewing space I am limited to extract beers. I was considering trying to make my own.
I was thinking that the base would have to be malty, so my mind went immediately to an Irish Red kit from Norther Brewer. Sticking with the Ireland thread, I then considered adding a cup (or 1.5 or 2) of Jameson instead of bourbon to secondary and making an Irish Red Whiskey ale. Has anyone made or heard of anything like this? Any thoughts on potential snags I may run into? My fermentor is empty and I'm itching to start branching out from following extract recipes straight from start to finish. I really appreciate the help/advice!

check out using oak chips soaked in bourbon/whiskey! im planning to do it myself, and this is the method ive seen being used the most. youll find lots of threads on here with different techniques for this.

I've been looking into this and there seem to be a few different ways to do it -
Soak wood chips in whiskey for about 2 weeks, then either:
1. pour the whole mixture in
2. add the wood chips only
3. add the liquid only

I'm leaning towards adding the liquid only b/c I'm worried about getting too much oak flavor, which some brewers have mentioned struggling with. Any recommendations based on what you've found? Thanks for the help!

I brewed a dark ale,& while that was fermenting,I soaked 4oz of medium toast French oak chips in 5 jiggers (7.5oz) of Beam's Black in an airtight container in the fridge during the entire ferment time.