Extra wort

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Abrayton

Reaction score
I’ve been brewing for about six years and had my system dialed in almost perfectly. A few months ago I bought a new brew kettle (SS Brewtech 15 gal) and I’ve been ending up with an extra gallon of wort after each brewing session. I still use my old kettle for measuring mash and sparge water, so that part should be consistent, but according to the new kettle I’m ending up with a gallon or more extra post sparge and to much to fit into my fermenter post boil. Thoughts?
70CBB6C7-A8E0-40E8-A8AE-3FB09C9176C1.jpeg

I’m ending up with a gallon or more extra post sparge and to much to fit into my fermenter post boil. Thoughts?

You need a bigger fermenter.

You may not be boiling off as much with the new pot. I think that is the only way to end up with more wort than you anticipate.

I do need a bigger fermenter! The perplexing part is the extra wort pre boil. I’ll recalculate boil off next batch and see where I end up.

I’ve been brewing for about six years and had my system dialed in almost perfectly. A few months ago I bought a new brew kettle (SS Brewtech 15 gal) and I’ve been ending up with an extra gallon of wort after each brewing session. I still use my old kettle for measuring mash and sparge water, so that part should be consistent, but according to the new kettle I’m ending up with a gallon or more extra post sparge and to much to fit into my fermenter post boil. Thoughts?

Did your old kettle have a deadspace that the new kettle doesn't?
Does the new kettle have a taller profile than the old?

I do need a bigger fermenter! The perplexing part is the extra wort pre boil.

You mean post-boil, right?