Dough-in Temp

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sweetwort-Hopkins

Reaction score
Hey all, newbie here. So, after having brewed just under a dozen DIPA's, I shot for a sessionable hoppy pale ale yesterday. Grain bill was 10# on the dot as opposed to the usual 20ish# for a DIPA.
My concern is this: I am used to doughing-in 20# of grain at 164F to achieve about 152F once all grain is added and then I'll seal the MLT (10gal Igloo) after stirring shortly for a rest temp of 150F. Yesterday's brew recipe suggested a 152F mash. I am used to losing 10-12F during dough-in - so, I let my strike water cool down to 166F for this recipe (figuring I'd land at about 154F when all the grain was added). With all the grain in the tun, the temp sat at 156F for about 10-15mins (all the while I was stirring somewhat aggressively too help release some of the heat. I am super-apprehensive about adding any cold water just because I don't want it to drop any lower than my target temp - and then have to fight that). So, after maybe 15mins at 156F, I got it down to 152F and sealed the lid. I accounted for the fifteen mins and set my timer for a 45min sealed mash.
Wort tasted great after vorlauf and I let it flow into the kettle.

My question is this: What effect may the 156F temp at the beginning of the mash have on the final beer quality/taste??

I've read on some threads that most of the conversion happens in the first 15mins. I'm not super worried and I'm attributing this situation to the smaller amount of grain than I've typically brewed with. Next time I'll dough-in a bit closer to the rest temp when brewing a lower gravity/less grain beer.

Any thoughts would be highly appreciated!! Cheers

Good, timely Question.