Quantcast

Do you need a 1 off Stainless part built for your system? Let's discuss it.

HomeBrewTalk.com - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Community.

Help Support Homebrew Talk:

ttuato

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Aug 2, 2016
Messages
279
Reaction score
281
Location
Chattanooga
@Jaybird

How about a homebrew version of this dry hopper from Stout. (they have a homebrew version already but it does not hold very many hops - https://conical-fermenter.com/dry-hop-doser.html)

13L-dry-hopper-SP-DRY-HOPPER-13L---1336.jpg




Using the wort filter body from brewhardware: https://www.brewershardware.com/tri...rainer-filter-3-od-body-only-refurbished.html

Make the following modifications:

tc15strainershell-2.jpg


In addition to the above it would require a 1.5" butterfly valve at the top of the fermenter
Process for adding dryhops:
  1. Attach to a closed valve on top of fermenter (think conical or Spike flex.
  2. Purge with CO2 for a couple of seconds in the bottom NPT
  3. Add hops, place cap on top (but do not clamp yet).
  4. Purge with CO2 again, then clamp cap.
  5. Purge again with CO2 - release pressure from TOP valve
  6. Pressurize chamber with CO2 so that higher than fermentor pressure (avoid
  7. Now open valve and let hops drop into fermenter.

I have the brewhardware wort strainer already. It will hold ~20oz of hop pellets
 
OP
Jaybird
Joined
Jul 16, 2006
Messages
7,357
Reaction score
1,172
Location
Redding Ca
I can make that. Do me a favor and shoot me a PM (or here) with a "Hand CAD" dwg of exactly what you want. I'll shoot you over a quote.

Cheers
Jay
 

NewJersey

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Oct 22, 2012
Messages
1,119
Reaction score
406
Location
Boonton
Has anyone ever had a tri clamp mount immersion chiller made?
I brew biab in an SS brewtech 1V setup. I like immersion chillers and just stick mine in the pot right on top of the heating coil and recirculate around it.
I was just thinking about it today and the perfect solution for me would be a 1.5" triclamp mounted IC. I use ball lock quick disconnects and would like an in/out on the top/bottom on the outside of the TC.
Does this make any sense?
I can measure how high/wide I'd like it, but does what I'm asking for make sense?
 
OP
Jaybird
Joined
Jul 16, 2006
Messages
7,357
Reaction score
1,172
Location
Redding Ca
Has anyone ever had a tri clamp mount immersion chiller made?
I brew biab in an SS brewtech 1V setup. I like immersion chillers and just stick mine in the pot right on top of the heating coil and recirculate around it.
I was just thinking about it today and the perfect solution for me would be a 1.5" triclamp mounted IC. I use ball lock quick disconnects and would like an in/out on the top/bottom on the outside of the TC.
Does this make any sense?
I can measure how high/wide I'd like it, but does what I'm asking for make sense?
Send me a drawing of exactly what your looking for. We can discuss it.

Cheers
Jay
 

bkboiler

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2015
Messages
911
Reaction score
316
Location
San Diego
Probably not the place, but just got my one-off stainless false bottom tonight!
Fits great! Can't wait to brew with it. Thanks Jay and Co!
Pic below is still needing me to cut the dip tube to length...
 

Attachments

AkTom

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Jun 19, 2013
Messages
1,846
Reaction score
1,323
Location
Soldotna
I have a Foundry 10.5 ordered. Do you know the hole size in the lid? If I wanted to get a steam slayer, would that attach with the Turbo 500 2” triclover connect on your website?
Thanks, and cheers
Tom
 
OP
Jaybird
Joined
Jul 16, 2006
Messages
7,357
Reaction score
1,172
Location
Redding Ca
Probably not the place, but just got my one-off stainless false bottom tonight!
Fits great! Can't wait to brew with it. Thanks Jay and Co!
Pic below is still needing me to cut the dip tube to length...
Awesome! Great picture..

Cheers
Jay
 
OP
Jaybird
Joined
Jul 16, 2006
Messages
7,357
Reaction score
1,172
Location
Redding Ca
@Jaybird , I've been impatiently waiting for this to come back in stock, with no luck. Any chance you can make something similar, in the ballpark of the same price range?
Not in that price range man. Unfortunately I don't build or try and compete with China. Sorry. Shoot me a PM of the diameter and height you want. I'll see what I can do for you on it.

Cheers
Jay
 

Punx Clever

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
384
Reaction score
235
It would add $20 as a custom part. PM me and I can direct you if you want it.

Cheers
Jay
Just realized I could do what I wanted by screwing a daggum male ball-lock into the base part itself! Got too caught up replicating the original setup. Just put in my order for in-stock parts.

Thanks though!
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2011
Messages
1,008
Reaction score
236
Location
Las Vegas
Hi Jaybird,
I'd like to get a price on fabricating a short 2" spool with a 1.5" or 1" Tee added. I want to keep the 2" portion as short as possible. Basically, it would look like your lyne arm without the perf, and the 2" section as short as possible.

PM or e-mail me with a quote. Thanks
 

Bago-0

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Jul 16, 2020
Messages
52
Reaction score
18
Location
Clearwater
I currently ferment in a sankey 1/4 barrel keg. It is fitted with a 4inch TC on top that has 2 NPT fittings. I use them for blow off and pressure transfers. I would like to use a glycol chiller and wanted a 4inch TC top that had a chiller coil welded in as well as an additional port for blow off / transfers. Spike makes one but it doesn't have the additional port I would need and they said they couldn't add one. Could this be made? here is pic of the spike coil.Flex.jpg
 
OP
Jaybird
Joined
Jul 16, 2006
Messages
7,357
Reaction score
1,172
Location
Redding Ca
I currently ferment in a sankey 1/4 barrel keg. It is fitted with a 4inch TC on top that has 2 NPT fittings. I use them for blow off and pressure transfers. I would like to use a glycol chiller and wanted a 4inch TC top that had a chiller coil welded in as well as an additional port for blow off / transfers. Spike makes one but it doesn't have the additional port I would need and they said they couldn't add one. Could this be made? here is pic of the spike coil.View attachment 693418
Yes but we currently do not have the coil. Our vendor botched our order and the coils cam in about 1" to large in Diameter. If you can get me just the coil. I'm happy to do it for you.
Shoot me a PM lets discuss it.

Cheers
Jay
 
Top