Different force carb results for different beers?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

macaronijones

Reaction score
So i'm still new to kegging, and after my first attempt at a quick force-carbonation i posted on here about how easy it was and how perfectly the beer was carbonated as quickly as 12 hours later. Well, beginner's luck I suppose because since then I've had some issues.

After watching some youtube videos and reading on here my method was to rack my crash-cooled Blue Moon clone into the keg, purge with C02, set to 30 PSI and shake for 2-3 minutes. I then left it connected still at 30 for a couple of hours (2-3). Then i removed the gas line, released the pressure thru the valve, set to serving pressure and let it sit for a couple more hours. Later that same day I pulled a bunch of pints and they were perfect. So perfect my friends and I kicked the keg within a few days.

Well, since then I've tried the exact same method on an oatmeal stout and a centennial blonde ale, with very different results. The oatmeal stout was still completely flat after the initial day, and didn't really carb up until a week later. It was as if the shaking at 30 did nothing and I did set-and-forget for a week.

On the other hand, the centennial blonde ale was pure foam after this same procedure....

Should there be this much variance when doing (what i thought) to be the same procedure, but with different beers? They were all the same temperature, same volume, same amount of shaking at same PSI, more or less the same length of time from racking into keg to first pour attempt...

I know the more foolproof method would be set and forget, but clearly it's possible to do it quicker and i'd like to be able to recreate the results of my first attempt reliably. Confused...