Conditioning 5 g in 6 g secondary

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brelic

Reaction score
I use a 7 or 8 g pail with a loose fitting lid for primary and a 6 g glass carboy for secondary. I've been doing this ever since I started brewing.

I wonder, though, is it a problem to have so much headspace in the secondary? Should I really use a 5 g carboy? I mean, my beers have turned out fine, a few have been stellar, so I wonder if it has any effect at all.

Anyone have any thoughts?

I use a 7 or 8 g pail with a loose fitting lid for primary and a 6 g glass carboy for secondary. I've been doing this ever since I started brewing.

I wonder, though, is it a problem to have so much headspace in the secondary? Should I really use a 5 g carboy? I mean, my beers have turned out fine, a few have been stellar, so I wonder if it has any effect at all.

Anyone have any thoughts?

I dont know the answer to this, but I have been thinking the same thing, since due to a game of musical fermenters, in a few days I will be forced to use my 6 gallon fermenter for a 5 (more like 4.5) gallon batch for the first time.. My gut tells me this is not a problem, but I am curious in a definitive answer to this myself.

When you transfer to secondary, the beer will degas enough to create a layer of CO2 on top of the beer. Or you could just not secondary the beer...

When you transfer to secondary, the beer will degas enough to create a layer of CO2 on top of the beer. Or you could just not secondary the beer...