Comments on kit recipe of old?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

socialdougal

Reaction score
I started brewing decades ago using Tom Caxton's kits.

Frankly, the outcome was not that great but, in fairness, that could have been at least partly due to my own inexperience.

This was at a time when home brewing was a relatively new hobby in the UK. The home-brew shops all appeared around that time.

Anyway, I just found the instructions that came with the can of LME (attached). Apparently Munton's took over the brand, and the instructions look pretty much as I remember them.

Two points of concern for me: Only 4-6 days to ferment? Use any old cold water; No need to boil or sterilize?

I'd like to read some comments from enlightened brewers on these points and anything else about the Tom Caxton approach that looks right or wrong.

Cheers!

View attachment Tom_caxton.pdf

Most ale yeasts are pretty fast. It is not uncommon for a new brewer to comment that his ale fermented to the expected final gravity in 3 days. I've bottled a few ales within a week of pitching yeast. It isn't the best practice but it is possible if you let the beer ferment where it is warm but with the higher temperatures the yeast produces esters that are not as pleasing as we would prefer and it can also produce fusel alcohol. Cooling the wort to a lower temperature reduces the ester production which leads to a cleaner tasting beer but it also slows the fermentation so it will take longer for the yeast to complete the fermentation. With proper temperature control, you can produce good beer in about 10 days. Leaving the beer in the fermenter longer lets more yeast settle out so it doesn't end up in the bottles.