Cheap Coffee Grinder

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sbe2

Reaction score
On the weekends I enjoy brewing a pot of coffee with my French press. I buy a lb of beans from the store and grind it there. That lb will last me a month if not more. Towards the end of the lb the flavor drops off as expected.

I think that if I buy the beans whole and grind when needed, my coffee will be better off. Which grinder would be best for under $30? I am not opposed to a manual, but would probably go with a burr style. Any suggestions?

I have Been using a French press for 10 years + and I use a cheep black & decker blade coffee grinder . The French press needs a corse grind and I find it’s just a time issue on getting the right size grind.

Just switched from blade grinder to this burr grinder and am fairly happy with it. Unrelated to the grind, the collection cup has static cling so a bit of the grinds stay stuck to the sides. However, I still recommend it because my pour-overs have had a noticeable improvement from the coarse grind.

Chefman Coffee Grinder / Electric Burr Freshly Grinds Up to 8 oz Beans, Large Hopper and 17 Grinding Options for 2-12 Cups, Cleaning Brush Included https://www.amazon.com/dp/B077SBFR8K/?tag=skimlinks_replacement-20

Last edited by a moderator:
The burr grinder we use is NOT cheap, so I'm not even going to suggest it. However, I found a manual one (adjustable spice mill) at goodwill for $5 which does a pretty good job. I do french press and aeropress.