Carbing beer to be stored at room temperature

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hirschb

Reaction score
I've scoured the various forum posts, and haven't found the exact answers to my question. I'm new to kegging. I have a one line CO2 system in a converted fridge. This fridge acts as a fermentation chamber, cold crash vessel, and keg chiller/dispenser. In other words, I'm trying to do a lot with a little. So anyway, to my question:
I'd like to store and potentially carbonate some beers that have finished fermenting, which will free up fermenter space for more beer. These beers will be kegged, and then stored at room temp (about 78-79 F here in FL). I'm planning to cold crash the beer in the fermenter, keg it cold, pressurize it at 30 psi overnight (24hrs.), disconnect the CO2 line, and then store at room temp. The gas line will then be put back on whatever I'm serving on tap. I was not planning to blow off excess gas from the beer held as 30 psi overnight. If I use this method, will the beer with 24hrs. at 30 psi and stored at room temp for some weeks (will totally depend, but probably more than 2) be at anything close to full carbonation? Can anyone think of a drawback to using this method?
Thanks,