Can't Solve Beer Foam Issue

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

catman

Reaction score
I'm new to kegging and am having a foaming issue. Here's the details:
  • I have two 5-gallon kegs and one 1.75-gallon keg. The two 5-gallon kegs are hooked up to about 6 feet of 3/16" ID AccuFlex BevSeal line, and give me no problems at all.
  • The 1.75 gallon keg was originally hooked up to a line of the same length, but came outs pure foam and flat at about 12PSI. I tried reducing the pressure to something like 9 PSI and lengthened the line to 19 feet, but it didn't help at all. When I turn the pressure down, the beer still comes out foamy, but somewhat more carbonated.
  • The only guess I have as to what's going on is this: I carbonated the beer in the 1.75-gallon keg by setting the pressure to about 35PSI overnight and then reducing to serving pressure. Could it be that I over carbonated the beer, and by reducing the pressure, the beer is re-equilibriating by releasing CO2 from solution into the keg, which means that the actual pressure in the keg is greater than the 9PSI I have the regulator set at?
  • Everything is at 38 degrees F.
Thanks so much for the help.

Have you disassembled and cleaned your faucet and disconnect and liquid post on the offending keg? If all other factors are the same as the nice pouring keg I would start there, gunk or hops particles can cause foam.

swap your liquid line to a different keg and see if it still pours foam.
I had one liquid quick connect have a piece of plastic blocking the beer from coming out and it poured foam all the time.
cheers

swap your liquid line to a different keg and see if it still pours foam.