Can i make malt extract ?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

arnold2006

Reaction score
I'm very new in brewing, as i live in india, home brewing is not allowed and i dont get ant kits here, sitll i want ot brew my own beer, can anyone help me? and what is hopes by the way? is there any substitute for it in india?

You don't have to make malt extract to make beer. Extract is just concentrated or spray dried wort, which you can make directly. Wort is made by mashing grains and draining of the sweet liquid from that process. You add hops, boil, cool and add yeast...let it ferment and you'll have beer.

If you are interested in home-brewing, I'd suggest reading "How to Brew" by John Palmer (there is an online version-google it). As for ingredients, you might be limited based on your geographical location. However, just about every culture has a fermented beverage akin to beer. You may need to substitute a locally grown grain for the barley that beer is traditionally made of.

Good luck!

I actaully wondered this the other day, but for a different reason. I'm an AG brewer that doesn't get many 6-7hour free days for brewing. Could I just mash say 15G worth of a 1.040 pure Pale Ale grain bill, then just boil it down to super concentration syrup. Then Use that whenever I had a 3-4 hour free day and brew extract, with steeping grains...... Take maybe 1 day every 3 months or so to make a ton of extract that I could then use over the next few months on several brews.

I wondered this also. I need a starter and I am out of DME. Can I just crush enough malt to get a 1.040 wort and boil that for my starter?