Buying a kegerator but I'm overwhelmed on what I need

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

EMH5

Reaction score
I’m new to brewing. I just started this year and I now have 5 brews under my belt, all bottled, and I recently got the thumbs up to keg from my lovely wife. We are planning on having a cabinet built with a countertop against a wall that will hold a skinny wine fridge, a beer fridge and now a kegerator! We are going to buy the kegerator and not make one – I don’t have the time or skill to do this. I’ve researched kegerators (and keezers) but since I only have about 21” in width to work with I’m positive kegerator is the only way to go. Right now my head is spinning on what I need to get started. I’ve read so much here and now I’m just confused so please bear with me. I figure kegging using a corny is the way to go.

Are all kegerators equipped for both corny kegs and sankes? Or do I need to specifically order a kegerator for homebrews? I’m looking to keg my own beers and sometime have commercial beer. I see that a few come with the sanke coupler so that is obviously compatible for sanke kegs. Is it so simple that the gas lines just hook up to the cornies?

I’ve looked on amazon, walmalt, craigslist, wayfair, kegconnection, kegworks and beveragefactory for possible kegerators. I’m just overwhelmed on what I need to get started – I don’t want to buy a kegerator and not be able to hook up a corny keg when it’s equipped for a sanke! Do the gas lines just hook up easily to the cornies?

Any advice for someone without a clue? I know I need a regulator, gas lines etc, CO2 tank, corny keg, etc., a couple of min fans to cool the fridge but am missing something – do anyone buy a kegerator and need to buy something else because it didn’t come with it?