Buy kegerator or build one?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheBrewGoose

Reaction score
I've been dreaming of a kegerator for a long time. I bought a fridge (with a front door) and the plan was to build one myself. But i've been looking at Kegerators on amazon, with 2 taps and they look amazing. But i have no experience with them nor do i have any clue if they are worth buying.

So, should i build one or buy it ready? I havent bought any equipment yet.

And what kegerators (2 tap) would you recommend?

Cheers!

I'd just build it, seeing how you have the spare fridge anyway. If you're halfway decent at carpentry, you can make it as good and usually better than the pre built ones.

When I first got into brewing, I bought one. A few years down the road, I wanted more taps so I built one. If I would have known how easy it is to build one, I would have never bought that first one. Browse this thread for ideas:
https://www.homebrewtalk.com/showthread.php?t=29053

Also, whether you build or buy, give flow-control faucets some consideration. They let you serve beer at different pressures without having to change out the length of your line.

When I first got into brewing, I bought one. A few years down the road, I wanted more taps so I built one. If I would have known how easy it is to build one, I would have never bought that first one. Browse this thread for ideas:
https://www.homebrewtalk.com/showthread.php?t=29053

Also, whether you build or buy, give flow-control faucets some consideration. They let you serve beer at different pressures without having to change out the length of your line.

Alright. Thanks for the tip!

What is the estimated cost?

- Two SS forward sealing faucets: $70 and up
- two SS thru-fridge shanks: $24