Building a new Brewing Rig... Need some help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Flanman

Reaction score
Ok, so I made the switch years ago to all grain and have had a lot of success with it. That being said I am no expert. I am finally moving up to a bigger system. I feel that 10 gallon batches would suite me best but I am having some trouble deciding on a RIMS or HERMS system...or going with good old Propane or Electric. I live in Alaska so its going to be pretty expensive either way!!. What are some of your experiences? If any? :tank:

If expense is the primary concern, I'd look at the cost of gas verses electric based off your local costs for each. If you are not too worried about cost, I'd go with electric in a heart beat....especially up in Alaska where with electric you don't have to have your brew space ventilated like with gas, so you can keep a warmer brew space without the expense of building in a ventilation system for the combustion. Pro's and Con's of HERMS v RIMS have plenty of threads so I won't go into my thoughts on that...I'll just say I really like electric, I like brewing with my garage shut in the winter to keep warm and I like not listening to the blast furnace of 60K+ btu's.

I love electric BIAB. and will never go back. I can just plug into the wall and control heat and a pump from a panel. Best of all it's quiet.

So even with brewing electric in the garage I will still need some sort of ventilation even for the steam/ moisture produced during the cold winter weather. Otherwise I would face condensation and probably mold in the garage. Any thoughts on that? I was thinking just a basic range top vent. Or have you not had the same issues with excessive boil off using electric?