Brutal Hangover from Home Brew

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ChiN8

Reaction score
Now,
I am not a scientist, nor have I researched what exactly would cause a hangover or what would make one worse than others but Friday night I didn't even drink as much as I have before, say when I drink Shock Top, Stella Artois, or Miller Lite but the hangover the next day was BRUTAL!

has anyone experienced a worse than normal hangover from home brew compared to commercial brews and what may cause such a thing?

Never had a hangover from homebrew. I usually drink more homebrew than commercial when I do drink so not sure why you would get one. I think the concessus is that homebrew has more B vitamins in it due to active yeast still present and it helps prevent hangovers. Maybe there was alot of Diacytil Alcohol in your homebrew?

Well something like Miller Lite would be very low in alcohol content compared to most of the homebrews that we crazy brewers concoct. So having an equal # of homebrews compared to light commercial brews would likely mean consuming a very different amount of alcohol.

That said, when I consume my homebrews in moderation, I feel great the next day. I have read something about fusel alcohols- which are the result of fermenting at too high a temperature- and how they can cause horrible headaches.

Never had a hangover from homebrew. I usually drink more homebrew than commercial when I do drink so not sure why you would get one. I think the concessus is that homebrew has more B vitamins in it due to active yeast still present and it helps prevent hangovers. Maybe there was alot of Diacytil Alcohol in your homebrew?

It was a 5.1 abv% Cologne Kolsh.

What is Diacytil Alchohol?