Brown porter critique

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Br3w4u

Reaction score
I have never made a brown porter and I don’t think I have had one either so not sure if this will be right. So 1. Should I change anything in my recipe? 2. Should I change the beer style?

5 gallon batch
1.049 OG - 1.014 FG 19 IBU
9# marris otter
1# golden naked oats
8 oz. crystal 60
8 oz. carafa 3
4 oz. victory

1 oz. EKG @ 60 min.
Fermenting with WLP013

I have never used golden naked oats before but I thought this would be a good place to try them. I am unsure if I want to use C60 or C40. Also my EKG are pretty old, not sure how old but they have been in a freezer for at least 2 years. Should I up the hops a bit? Thanks for any advice.

A classic brown porter from a London brewery would have a grist something like 50% pale malt... 40% brown malt and 10% amber malt. Hops would almost always be EKG. I'm curious why you can't get brown malt? Just order some online.

A classic brown porter from a London brewery would have a grist something like 50% pale malt... 40% brown malt and 10% amber malt. Hops would almost always be EKG. I'm curious why you can't get brown malt? Just order some online.
https://www.brewersfriend.com/fermentables/united-kingdom-amber/
40% brown malt! Shyeeeeet that sounds craycray. I'm not saying its not true Im not even sure I know what brown porter is exactly, but I reserve the right to be baffled.
Simpsons says up to 10 percent for brown malt..

The brown malt from centuries past had diastatic power. Brown malt today does not and is a completely different malt. My advice is to use it sparingly. My favorite recipes using brown malt have me leaning over the mash tun whispering “brown malt.” That’s the usual amount I like adding.