Brewing outside and its cold

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

user 29674

Reaction score
I'm new to brewing outside, and this is the first time I've done it when its cold. Its about 24 degrees here outside right now. What adjustments, if any do I need to make to my calculations? I figure the only thing that will probably be affected is my boiloff rate, not sure if I need to plan for more or less.

yup, quite cold. only thing i figured differently for today was boil off rate (and propane usage)

But does it boil off more or less? I'm assuming more due to the larger difference in ambient and wort temps, but I want to be sure, since I'm still dialing in my equipment - I'm already adjusting up for more boiloff from my last brew session.

#1 Adjust for more boil off -- it boils off more due to the larger temp difference, and the fact that cold, winter air is usually dry.

#2 Here's what not to do:

Have a massive boil over, because you went inside for something and then hung out in there a little too long, leaving wet stuff everywhere.

When it's cold, that freezes.

Then, do not decide, that because it is cold you are going to pour your kettle out instead of siphon.

Because when you pick up that 5 gallons of boiling hot wort, and you spin around with it in your hands, on ice, things can get a little dicey.

I regained my balance, but I needed a beer afterwards.

I was home alone, and the thought of slipping on the ice, covering myself in boiling wort while falling down, and then passing out while lying in the wort while it cools and freezes to me would be a bad way to go...

Other than that, brew on my friend!

#1 Adjust for more boil off -- it boils off more due to the larger temp difference, and the fact that cold, winter air is usually dry.