Brewing Confesional

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BigJack

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I've been brewing for ten years, and most of my beers (say 85%) have been extract-based, including many canned kits (doctored up, of course.) Never in that time have I tasted "extract tang" until after Cooper's bought out Mr. Beer. In fact, I've frequently (not on here, I don't think) argued with AG-only brewers, insisting that extract tang simply doesn't exist, at least not unless the can was old or something else went wrong.

In the last 18 months, I've done eleven batches- one all grain, one partial mash, two old Mr. Beers, three new Mr. Beer (Coopers,) three unhopped extract-based (two w/ steeping grains, one liquid MO SMaSH) and one Brewferm kit. They've all been fermented in the same lbks, at the same temps.

All three of the Coopers-produced Mr Beer kits have had an sharp, cider-like aftertaste present in none of the other brews.

So I am publicly eating my words. I was wrong. Some canned kits do indeed have a strange aftertaste. My apologies to anyone I might have argued with on this or any other brewing board.

If anyone else wants to post a brewing confession, feel free.

A cidery flavor is usually indicative of acetaldehyde and is commonly the result of young beer. Different yeast strains produce more acetaldehyde than others. Perhaps the new Mr. Beer is using a different yeast strain that produces more cider/acetaldehyde flavor? Maybe the beer needed a little longer to condition? Without knowing more of your process it's difficult to tell.