Braggot tastes like ASS!!!!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Newsman

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hey, all... I tried to make a cysee with 5 gallons of apple juice and about 3# of honey. I fermented it at 60* and used yeast energizer/nutrient about every other day for about two weeks before I ran out of nutrient/energizer. After about a month I brought the temp up to about 70* for a couple weeks and now have cold-crashed it. I took a sample the other day and it tastes NASTY. NO flavor, and no "rocket fuel" either. Just nasty.
Should I add a can of apple juice concentrate and/or honey for flavor or toss it or what??? This is my first attempt at anything "mead-like" and I hate to throw it out, but I don't think this is something that will age out. :(

Last edited:
Who really knows what ass tastes like anyway? That's like the Styrofoam thing ... you know that rice cakes taste like Styrofoam ... because what? You eat Styrofoam?

Sorry, its a cyser not a braggot, and I have no idea either starting or final gravity. I used EC 118 yeast, two packs

Ec1118 will take 5g of apple juice and 3lbs of honey to Sahara desert dry...

If you add more sugar now, it'll still probably ferment out until you reach ~18+% abv.

Your best bet would be to stabilize with sorbate and campden and add honey or apple juice concentrate to taste...