Bottled Too Early?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jglenn16

Reaction score
I am pretty new to homebrewing and this forum has been a huge help! This is my first post and I'm excited to be a part of the community!

I brewed an Irish Red Ale two weeks ago and bottled it exactly at the two week mark. The OG reading was 1.050 and the FG reading was 1.014. I didn't take another gravity reading since it was fermenting for exactly 14 days, so I assumed it would be ok. Now, I think I may have bottled it too early and I have been reading horror stories of exploding beer bottles. Has anyone brewed a similar style and does the FG reading seem to be ok?

The was fermenting at a constant temp of 70 degrees and it's still fairly hot where I'm at, so it seems like the bottles will be bottle conditioning at about 78-80 degrees. Does this make a difference in whether or not the bottles have a higher chance at exploding? Should I try to store them in a cooler spot?

Thanks in advance!

You're gonna be fine, 1.014 is a very reasonable FG (a pretty good one if you ask me, but of course it depends on style and lots of other factors).

In the future, however, take a few gravity readings, starting at the two week mark perhaps, over a course of 3 days, and make sure gravity remains the same. That way you'd be sure fermentation has ended.

As you gain experience, you'll probably stop doing that (as I have, most of the times), but while you're beginning, I highly recommend you do that.

If you stick them in the fridge, the yeast will go mostly dormant and you'll greatly reduce the risk of bottle bombs. If you were at your FG though, and you stick them in the fridge now, you'll probably end up with flat beer.