bottle conditioning temps

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chavito0625

Reaction score
Hello fellow beer-o-philes! I've been involved in this wonderful hobby for almost a year now (and love it!!!) and this site has been incredibly helpful as questions have arisen and, for that, I'm am incredibly grateful. This is my first time posting a question because, to my knowledge, it hasn't been addressed yet on this forum but, if it has, I apologize in advance.

I just bottled two batches: a Russian Imperial Stout and a Belgian Dubbel. I usually bottle condition my brews at about 70 for 3-4 weeks before cracking open a sample and moving them to my basement which is a bit cooler. In a few weeks, however, I'll be out of town for the holidays for two weeks and plan on lowering the thermostat during that period (I live in Michigan and temperatures will be quite frigid!). In other words, they'll condition for two weeks at about 70, then I leave. Do I risk problems if, all of a sudden, the temperature lowers to, say, 55 for two weeks... then return it to room temperature when I return? Or should I find a foster home for my wonderful brews for those two weeks?

Thank you in advance for your advice and for all of the wonderful advice that has already been shared!!!

My bottle conditioned beers fluctuate daily (long story) between 55 and 70, and most 5-6% beers are fine, higher alcohol beers take longer, but they still carbonate. What I don't have experience with is if they were to drop to 55 for too long. My guess would be they would be fine, but that upon returning, you may have to rouse the yeast after warming them back up by giving the bottles a gentle shake.