Black Mead?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LudovicoManin

Reaction score
Hey there. I know I should be slowing down on mead production, but I like being a Mead Baron and would like to have variety in my stock rather than 5 gallons of one thing. Searching around, I came across a link for Black Mead:

• 18 lbs caramelized honey
  • 2.5 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1 package of Lalvin EC-1118, aka Champagne yeast
  • 1 oz cardamom
  • 1 oz ginger root
  • 1 oz black tellicherry “extra bold” peppercorns, whole
What do we think? Has anyone carmelized honey before? Risks and challenges? Is the taste worth it in the end? I would imagine it would have more body to it... but I am no expert. Kind of willing to give this a try and age it until next winter.

=But check the temperatures at which honey caramelizes. Many folk burn their honey and call that carbon caramelization. It ain't. Carbon (burnt sugar), like burnt toast ain't tasty. It tastes like crap. Bochet has complex flavors. None taste like burnt toast.

One caution with carmelizing honey- be very careful with adding the water. Too hot honey+too cold water= explosion of scalding hot sticky sugar= bad burns

Last edited:
I've done a couple of bochets.

When you go to caramelize the honey, make sure your pot is much larger than you think it needs to be. The honey will start to foam up like crazy when the water starts boiling out of it.

Also, let it cool to below 212°F before mixing with the water so that it doesn't explode all over the place.