BIAB efficiency

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrettV

Reaction score
For those of you doing BIAB consistently, what kind of efficiency are you getting? I've been doing mostly BIAB PM brews (with a sparge) for almost 3 years now, and I seem to get crazy high efficiency. The default setting on my software is 75%, and I generally surpass the OG by quite a bit. For instance, I brewed a kolsch yesterday that should have come in at 1046, but actually read between 1050 and 1051 which gives me an efficiency of more like 84%. For the record, these are hydrometer readings taken right before pitching yeast, which means I have added extract and top-up water at this point. I don't have a refractometer to take readings before boiling. Although, my batch yesterday only had 1 pound of extract and about 0.5 gallons of top-up water, so it was NEARLY all grain.

I have heard that BIAB can yield fairly high efficiency, but I'm curious if others are experiencing efficiency in the mid-80s.

For those who like to know all the details, here was my recipe:

6# German pilsner mash 60 mins. at 148
0.5# Munich Light 10L mash 60 mins. at 148
1# Pilsen DME late boil (15 mins.)

1 oz. Tettnang 60 mins 4.6%AA
0.5 oz. Crystal 60 mins 4.1%AA

1 Whirfloc tablet late boil (15 mins.)

Wyeast 2565 Kolsch

I mashed on the lower end to keep it dryer, which might also explain the higher OG. I sparge using a second kettle with 2 gallons of water heated to 160. I "teabag" the grains, and then let them sit for another 30 mins for a little more conversion. Basically, I use Deathbrewer's Stovetop Partial Mash thread for guidance.

Yup. Consistently between 85% and 86% for most brews. Higher gravity brews (>1.080 sg) generally run down to around 82% to 84%. All-grain, no extract recipes.