Belgian Experiments: Big beer, little beer. What do I call this?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

luckybeagle

Making sales and brewing ales.
Reaction score
I've been brewing Belgians since I started in the hobby (in fact, it's the sole reason I started brewing!) and am familiar with patersbiers, but have always shied away from them due to the extra long brewday (boiling and chilling the first runnings, cleaning the kettle, and then putting the patersbier wort into the kettle to repeat).

Then, last weekend I had the idea to scale up my Tripel to a 7 gallon batch (OG 1.080) wherein 5 gallons would go into one carboy and receive a pitch of WY3522 Belgian Ardennes, and the other 2 gallons would go into a carboy holding 2 gallons of boiled and chilled water, effectively making a 4 gallon batch of a 1.040 beer, all the while preserving the same BU:GU ratio. I pitched 3711 French Saison in that one, since their grists and hop schedules are so similar. Pretty awesome to get a big beer and a little beer from one boil without adding time to the brewday (the extra two gallons of water was boiled in my HLT while I was chilling the undiluted wort, to save time)!