Beginner - beer mead?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

elephant

Reaction score
Hello,

I am a complete newb ... I just made my first mead must about an hour ago. I'd like to try and replicate the "beer mead" that is served in the medieval and viking restaurants where I live (Stockholm, Sweden).

It tastes more like beer than wine. I'm guessing it's just a weak (~5%) mead with some mild carbonation (not too much). I'm wondering is there a beginner friendly method for achieving this? I tried google searching "beer mead" (I don't know what it's called in English) and came up with nothing.

If someone can point me in the right direction I would very much appreciate that! :)

Thanks for that info there.

As a complete newb this maybe a dumb question, but do you reckon I could just make a weak mead (say aim at 5-8% alcohol) and use 50% honey and 50% this stuff (barely malt extract)

https://www.pgw.se/muntons-maltextrakt-amber-1-5kg.html
Then carbonate it with a quarter teaspoon of honey (or sugar or whatever) in an air-tight bottle for a few weeks? Would that maybe create something like the "mead beer" I'm referring to (that nobody seems to have heard about, lol)? Maybe they are just serving braggot at those restaurants and they just call it "mead beer" because they don't know what else to call it.