Banjo Burner low vs. high pressure

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mike89

Reaction score
Hello all,

Bare with me as this is my first post and I am new to home brewing. As a lurker for a while on this forum, I have read about high and low pressure banjo burners. I'm going to be building a manual control propane single tier, single pump HERMS setup for starters. I would like leave room to expand to automation in the future, that is why I have decided on low pressure burners. Now to the point! What the heck makes the burner from Brewers Hardware "low pressure"? Can't I just buy the $7 adapter from brewers hardware, and add it to the burner from agrisupply.com?
Agrisupply.com high pressure banjo:
http://www.agrisupply.com/Bg-High-Pressure-Cast-Iron-Burner/p/64494/

Brewers Hardware low pressure banjo:
http://www.brewershardware.com/10-Low-Pressure-Burner.html

7 dollar adapter to make high pressure, low pressure:
http://www.brewershardware.com/Valve-and-LPG-Orifice-for-BURN10.html

Isn't it more cost effective to go with the "high pressure" burner from agrisupply and add the 7 dollar adapter than the "low pressure" burner from brewers hardware or am I missing something?

Thanks for helping a NEWB! -Mike :mug:

I have never used the adapter but I think I concur with your research. It certainly does sound like the adapter will work by reading the description.

BG14's come with propane orifices. Your best bet to switch to NG if you wish is to simply buy the blichmann conversion kit - just another larger orifice and a needle valve.

The 10" burner itself is always the same. Don't be fooled by the descriptions of "not to be used with propane/natural gas". I don't know why they say that, but it's not true.