apfelwein - when to bottle?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TSR6

Reaction score
I'm fermenting some apfelwein right now. I only have a carboy and airlock - i dont have the meter for gravity.

The airlock has just about stopped bubbling, but i still see bubbles coming up in the carboy. I know I can let it sit for quite a while - i was planning on a week or two more. Anything I can watch for, or should I wait till tuesday when the homebrew shop opens and actually get a meter?

yes im a newb.

I'd rack it to a secondary in another 3 weeks or so, and bottle in about 5 months. And crack the first on on Chritstmas, NEXT year...or maybe thanksgiving.

This is a game of patience and we are rewarded with great tasting stuff.

Hell last time I tried serving folks cider less than 3 months old they refused it. Even six. So I don't bother til it's been bottle conditioned for 6 months, and bulk aged for 5-6 months prior. I make mine around x-mas to serve the next year.

This may give you some more incentive to wait.

I have been brewing cider for somewhat over a year, and I haven't found anything that I've made that doesn't suck (nekkidness and straws not withstanding), and I was feeling pretty dismal about the whole thing. Until I came across one that had been overlooked in my disgust. I figured I'd better drink it, or at least sample it, to complete my degradation. It was surprisingly good. Really, really good. My faith in humanity was restored, and more importantly, my self-respect. So WHAT if the first batches tasted like sump water? So WHAT if small animals passed out from the smell? So WHAT if I could successfully use it as a rodenticide? Eventually, even *I* could make something ... remotely drinkable.