Anyone use this cooler for MLT?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Smeckel

Reaction score
Hey guys. I've been brewing up extract batches for a couple months now and am starting to piece together an all-grain setup. I have my burner and 60qt kettle so far and am deciding on a cooler for my MLT.

I almost bought the Igloo Icecube the other day but decided against it because of all the negative reviews about its insulation on here. I'm trying to keep my costs down as much as possible without sacrificing the beer. Has anyone has tried using the Igloo Marine 54qt cooler from walmart before. It has a latch on the top which might help keep some heat in, and is already drilled for the spigot unlike the ice-cube.

What would be the most insulated cooler out there in the >$40 range?

BTW...I'm looking to make 10gal batches with a steel braid manifold for batch sparging, if that matters.

I use a cheap 45 quart rubber maid rectangular cooler and it holds temps just fine.

Any of the marine coolers will work fine. The biggest place the manufacturers scrimp on is insulating the cooler lids.

I usually buy a can of spray foam and fill them up.

I almost bought the Igloo Icecube the other day but decided against it because of all the negative reviews about its insulation on here. I'm trying to keep my costs down as much as possible without sacrificing the beer.

In my opinion, all the negative reviews about the Igloo Icecube are a bunch of bunk. In my opinion again, I feel that people getting a large temperature drop is a result of not preheating the cooler, or simply having too small a grain bill for a 60 qt. cooler. Oh another possibility is someone opening the lid every few minutes and sttirring the heat away.