Another first time harvesting... "What part is the yeast?" question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bucketnative

Reaction score
This is my first time harvesting/washing yeast from a witbier that I bottled last week. I have "harvested" yeast from the fermenter before, but that entailed just skimming some sediment and depositing it in a cider fermenter. It worked, and I got cider, but for beer, I want to go through the washing process and eventually build a starter out of this.

The yeast was Safale K-97. Upon emptying the 3-gal fermenter, I swirled some boiled/cooled water around over the cake. I did it gently enough that I left behind quite a bit of the trub, what I skimmed off with a sanitized ladle was thin and milky, with large clumps left adhering to the bottom of the fermenter.

I let them settle for a few days in sanitized Mason jars and it looks like the attached photos. In all the tutorials, there is usually a clear dividing line between sedimentary trub and milky looking yeast. With this, the sediment is "flowy", not compacted. At the very bottom, I can see some trub-like sediment. Is it all yeast?

I was planning on an additional wash this evening. Advice?

IMG_4537.JPG

IMG_4535.jpg

IMG_4534.jpg

It looks like good clean yeast to me. You probably don't 'need' a starter with that amount, but like a blowoff tube - you won't regret making one. It will serve as concrete evidence that what you harvested/washed is viable yeast. :) I always make starters for liquid and harvested yeast for this reason. I'd rather overpitch that pitch stuff that wasn't viable.