Amarillo Amber Ale

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

arrup85

Reaction score
Hi there!

It's been a while since I've posted, but I really want get some feedback on this recipe before I brew this weekend. I've been brewing for just about a year, and I've been playing around with making my own one gallon extract recipes lately (some simple porters and a pumpkin ale).

I tasted a delicious Amber a few weeks ago at a local brewery and talking to the brew master he said that it was dry hopped with Amarillo. Thus, I'm going to try to shoot for something similar, or at least find out about dry hopping, this is my first time doing so. Here is the recipe I've come up with for a one gallon Amarillo Amber Ale:

1 gal batch - 1.25 gallon boil
OG: 1.054
IBUs: 20.6
SRM: 14.7
ABV: 5.2%

1lbs 4oz Amber DME (64.4%)
4oz Pilsen DME (12.9%)

5oz Caramel 60L (16.1%)
2oz Carapils (6.5%)

0.12oz Amarillo (8.9% - 45mins - 14.3 IBUs)
0.07oz Amarillo (8.9% - 15mins - 4.5 IBUs)
0.07oz Amarillo (8.9% - 5mins - 1.8 IBUs)
0.24oz Amarillo (Dry hopped in secondary - 4 days)​

Scaled to 5 gallons batch - 5.5 gallon boil:
OG: 1.054
IBUs: 20.6
SRM: 14.7
ABV: 5.2%

7lbs 1.4oz Amber DME (64.5%)
1lb 6.7oz Pilsen DME (12.9%)

1lb 12.4oz Caramel 60L (16.2%)
11.3oz Carapils (6.4%)

0.64oz Amarillo (8.9% - 45mins - 14.3 IBUs)
0.37oz Amarillo (8.9% - 15mins - 4.5 IBUs)
0.37oz Amarillo (8.9% - 5mins - 1.8 IBUs)
1.17oz Amarillo (Dry hopped in secondary - 4 days)​

My primary grain concern is whether or not I've overdone it on the percentages of caramel and carapils.

My primary hop concern is whether I have too much dry hopped!

Let me know what you think, and I'll let you know what changes I make and how it comes out!