Am I a *******?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Franz

Reaction score
Long story short I've been battling against extremely poor head retention since i started brewing (almost 4 years now). Tried different mash tecniques, protein rests, grain bills, thoughts and prayers and so far had no luck. Yesterday I was browsing a few threads in this section and saw a few discussions about oxiclean, someone mentioned it could negatively impact head retention. The thing is that I've been using various oxi-something (different brands of "Sodium carbonate peroxyhydrate" - CAS 15630-89-4) as my NO-RINSE sanitizer for my whole (brewing) life because it was recommended in my first brewing kit. Could this be it?

Oxiclean is a detergent, not a sanitizer, and it does need to be rinsed.

As for the original question; we all are, sometimes. :)

Definitely use StarSan for sanitizing, tried and true, and no rinse required (or desired). You can clean with other stuff, but rinse it very well. I use hot water only unless the surface is impossible to reach, then I use a PBW soak, followed by a good rinse in fresh water.

Make sure you're rinsing the Oxi-clean off, that might be the issue, though I imagine you would have noticed other issues with your beer as well. I use PBW which is essentially the same thing as Oxi-clean; hit my gear with 130 degree water, let it sit for 30, and rinse well with the same temp water until the surface is no longer slick. If you can share the actual detergent you're using we might be able to better assist.

In terms of head retention, do you use soap on any of your gear? There are several ways to diminish the head forming ability of your beer, and one of them is soap - never let it touch anything you brew with.