Airlock bubbling as a measure of primary fermentation??

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SirPublius

Reaction score
I'm new to cider-making. I've had three separate gallons fermenting for about a week now. I've heard that most fermentation should be done in a bout a week. I ALSO heard that when your bubbles in the airlock slow to a rate of about one a minute, most fermentation should be done. Oh, I don't have a hydrometer BTW. So, mine are bubbling away. One is releasing ever 20 seconds, the other two about ever 12 seconds....been doing that at that rate for at least 4-5 days. Is the rate of bubbling a decent measure to gauge fermentation?? They don't show any sign of slowing is why I ask. I also ask because I read somewhere that even when fermentation is pretty much done, that it may still bubble quite a bit as the yeast eats stuff OTHER than sugar. Think I should leave it till the bubbling slows quite a bit, or since its been a week, should I rack it?? Hmm.

First, the big question is are you fermenting in a bucket or in a carboy? Carboys tend to be MUCH better at creating a good seal, so they can be fairly good at displaying some information regarding fermenation. Buckets have a much higher leak rate, which makes them (IMO) almost useless for this.

If you are using carboys, I'd wait until the bubbling is pretty much completely stopped. I'll just come right out and say it, You really ought to get a hydrometer. They are pretty cheap and very handy. But anyway you don't have one now, so it is what it is. You'll have to guess at the gravity.

Bubbling is a not a perfect indicator of gravity or fermentaiton activity, even in a carboy, for a couple of reasons: