After the Whine (with pictures)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gytaryst

Reaction score
I posted another thread where I was complaining about a recent disastrous brew day that resulted in a crap beer/borderline drain pour, and how I was considering throwing in the towel. I'm a guitarist, (and a Lynyrd Skynyrd fan - hence the user name). I know a lot of people who absolutely love music, but who can't play an instrument or even carry a tune. So I got to thinking, (using that logic), that just because I love beer, it doesn't necessarily follow that I'd be good at making it.

I played in bands my whole adult life - that was my passion. That's what occupied most of my time. I gave that up in 2014. There comes a point where all the hair dye in the world doesn't fool anyone and you go from looking cool on stage to just looking silly and pathetic. So when I felt my band mates had reached that silly pathetic stage - I retired.

I replaced playing in a band with golf for a year - gave that up, and started obsessing over making beer in 2015. There's less physical activity, no special shoes required, and I don't have to dress like a brightly colored idiot . . . unless I want to.

After 2 1/2 years of brewing one "Eh, not bad - maybe next time" batch after another. . . and THEN the disastrous W.O.G. ("Waste of Grain") batch, I was ready to move on to basket weaving or bowling or something.

After the W.O.G. batch I brewed a pale ale. It wasn't ready at the time I posted my complaint. I've since tried it and it is absolutely delicious. It renewed my enthusiasm for brewing, and this past weekend I brewed this IPA. I figured I'd post pics of that. Not sure if this is the correct forum or not but the moderator can always delete it if it's not.