Adding fruit juice to the secondary. How much? Do I need to sanitize?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wrbeach

Reaction score
Currently planning out a grapefruit wheat and decided to go with store-bought 100% grapefruit juice as my method for adding the flavor. My current plan is to add it to the secondary, but my question is how much should I do and should I be sanitizing the juice in any way prior to adding it?

It's my first time using store-bought fruit juice, so I'm not exactly sure how much to put in. I don't want it to be SUPER forward but I'm not afraid to let you know its there.

For the sanitizing, it says "pasteurized" on the container, but I'm not sure if I'm ready to take that at face value. Do I need to do any additional sanitizing steps? If so, what would be the best method?

Any and all advice is welcome. Thanks!

First, check the ingredient list to make sure there aren't any preservatives that will kill or inhibit yeast. Otherwise, the juice may stop or substantially slow your fermentation.

Second, adding juice can be very tricky. Almost all sugars and sweetness will ferment out, leaving the juice way more tart and astringent than you may expect. I would err on the side of not adding too much. Maybe a half cup per gallon.

Also, you can just mix small amounts of fruit juice into beers after pouring. Perhaps you prefer the challenge of making the flavored beer, but there is also something to be said for also having a regular wheat beer that you can then add the amount of juice each person wants (including none).