Adapting kits.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ploppythesausage

Reaction score
I'm new to this whole homebrewing malarkey and am working from kits at the moment (although I've only actually followed the instructions to one - we'll see how the others go).
Next up I was going to use the Coopers Stout kit as a base to make a coffee, chocolate and naga chilli stout - and imperial if possible - inspired by some Mikkellers I've tried.
Does anyone have experience in adapting kits or how I should approach doing it? I was simply going to toss in some coffee beans and cocoa and a couple chillies when I boil the kit, ferment for a week or two, add more coffee, chocolate and chilli to the bucket, leave another couple weeks and bottle condition.
What do you reckon?

Yeah, I thought I'd have at least one opinion in adapting kits in general. Oh well, I'm going ahead with this at the weekend. I ran it through Beer Calculus to check it out - using one can Coopers Stout, 1kg Dark DME, 1kg Dextrose - one Naga chili and cocoa in the boil and some cold brewed coffee and one more Naga added to taste after fermentation subsides.
Made to 18 litres comes to 8-9%ABV

Bump: There must be some folks who have upped the ante on kits.

I haven't moved into all grain just yet and if you take a look at my signature you'll see that I've definitely added my own ingredients to some kits.

Specifically the Blueberry Chocolate Stout, Peppermint Chocolate Stout, Hop Bomb IPA, Strawberry Cream Ale, Blueberry Wheat, Chile Pale Ale and Eagles IPA (green beer) are all modified kits.