A simple answer?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dave-m

Reaction score
Maybe I screwed up here, but I recently botttled up a batch of porter right out of the primary (I admit it, I got lazy and didn't want to fuss with the secondary). I waited until there was approx 30 seconds between bubbles in the air lock. Overall the beer was in the primary for 11 days and had slowed to minimal activity by the 7th day.

My concern is.....Did i bottle to soon. Am I at risk of having bottle bombs or beer volcanoes?

If so, is there a fix at this point?

Thanks!

ive never had bottles explode on me but mabye thats because I wait until there is about 5 minutes between bubbles heh. I am fairly new to brewing so mabye someone with more experience could give you a better answer.

dave-m said:
Maybe I screwed up here, but I recently botttled up a batch of porter right out of the primary (I admit it, I got lazy and didn't want to fuss with the secondary). I waited until there was approx 30 seconds between bubbles in the air lock. Overall the beer was in the primary for 11 days and had slowed to minimal activity by the 7th day.

My concern is.....Did i bottle to soon. Am I at risk of having bottle bombs or beer volcanoes?

Thanks!
You might have bottled too soon...did you add additional priming sugar?