A beginner's fermentation woes...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WinoBob

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hello all,

I know these forums overflow with questions about yeast and fermentation, and yet I find myself writing my very first post on her on that same subject... :)

Ok, so here's the thing; I'm a relative beginner - brewed two 1 gallon kits, this is my first "own" recipe, and also first time ramping up from a gallon to 9 liters.

The beer is an IPA. I dissolved just under a gram of Wyeast Yeast Nutrient in warm water and added with 10 minutes left of the boil. Cooled the wort to 20 centigrade and poured through a sanitised strainer into the fermentor and shook it well to get it aerated and then pitched a vial of Vermont Ale yeast (slowly brought from fridge to room temperature during the brewing process). Fitted the airlock and set in the closet at 20.9 centigrade.

It's now been around 45 hours, and I can't really see or hear any action at all, and I'm getting antsy. I did notice yesterday when checking, that the water level in the airlock was just a little bit low, so I carefully topped it up to the "fill to here" line. If I carefully flick the airlock with my finger, I do hear a little *cluck*, but I am used to see a lot more action, and a lot sooner (around 12-24 hours).

This beer is a bigger batch than I've ever brewed before, and it is higher OG (1.063), so maybe that plays a role as well? I'm attaching a video I just shot. I didn't want to open the lid, but there does seem to be some sort of thing on the top of the wort there (forget what you call that), but again it's a bigger fermentor than I've used before, and am used to seeing a bigger mess on the top :)