6Row, Corn, Rye

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

goforevercrazywithit

Reaction score
I work at a distillery and have access to lbs and lbs of 6row barley, corn, and rye. I've been wanting to throw together a recipe using at least corn and 6row but I have little recipe building knowledge and no all grain experience. Anyone know of a a beer style or a recipe I could go for using these ingredients? Recipes using primarily 6row have been very hard to find.

Any information or advice about homebrewing with these ingredients is much appreciated.

A pre-Prohibition lager or cream ale. (use Cluster hops) Or add a little dark crystal malt and make a Kentucky Common.
Recipes using primarily 6row have been very hard to find.
I think you can pretty much substitute 6-row for 2-row in most recipes. It has a little higher protein; that's good if you're using lots of adjuncts.

I thought distiller's malt was a little different from brewer's malt, is the difference negligible?

Another vote for pre-prohibition lager. But I'm not sure that uses Rye. Why not just try and ale with 85/15 6-row and rye to start with?

I thought distiller's malt was a little different from brewer's malt, is the difference negligible?

Another vote for pre-prohibition lager. But I'm not sure that uses Rye. Why not just try and ale with 85/15 6-row and rye to start with?