3 wire thermocouple connect to 2 port temp controller

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

indianajns

Reaction score
Excuse the n00b question here. I sincerely wish I was an engineer with a hobby like this.

I've purchased a temp controller and thermocouple to measure mash temp
The Temperature Controller is STC-1000: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00862G3TQ/?tag=skimlinks_replacement-20

I also purchased a PT100 RTD Temperature Sensor Probe http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00CHAUK60/?tag=skimlinks_replacement-20

The temp controller has slots for 2 wires.
The thermocouple has 3 wires: 2 red and 1 white.

Can I make this work with only hooking up two of the wires or am I screwed and 1 or both of these have to be returned? If it can be done, which 2 wires would I connect to the temp controller.

Thanks in advance for any help

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks for the response. I now see that I purchased a temp control and an RTD. I called it a thermocouple as that is what was on the packaging (see pic.) (my bad, n00b move) My plan is to wire an electric outlet up to the heat side of the temp control to turn on an electric heating element when the temp of the mash drops below a set point. Can I insert two of the 3 wires of the RTD into the temp control?

image.jpeg

No, the STC-1000 uses a (from memory) 10k NTC thermistor. The RTD is a completly different type of sensor and will not work with the STC-1000. Do you still have the temp probe that should have come with the STC-1000 (little black pill on a wire)? Use that. Just be sure that the element you plan to use does not draw more than the STC-1000's current rating.